What motivates me to run…

In 2003, I was diagnosed with something called “Hypokalemic Periodic Paralysis” which is a rare condition that causes occasional episodes of severe muscle weakness and low potassium levels. It is often triggered by a high carbohydrate diet and strenuous exercise. Before diagnosis, I used to struggle with my workouts and the constant lack of energy, sleep, and appetite. I was constantly in the hospital hooked up to a machine that would monitor my heart, feeling weak, dizzy, with migraines and no energy at all. There were many times I thought I was not going to make it pass that day. Finally my diagnosis was set, and I had no other choice but to learn everything there is about Hypokalemic Periodic Paralysis.

After learning about this rare condition, it seemed almost impossible to become a distance runner….but that didn’t stop me from doing what I love the most. I had to learn how to manage this condition by changing my eating habits and physical activity. After eleven years, I have been able to run over seven half-marathons and many local races. I am currently training for my first full marathon scheduled for January 2015.

Being diagnosed with a low potassium deficiency that causes severe muscle weakness, and people telling me I can’t or shouldn’t be running or doing certain physical activity has been my biggest motivator to run, get fit, and healthy. I ran my last half marathon in 1 hour and 40 minutes which got me to qualify for the Houston Full Marathon and hopefully join the Texas Army National Guard Marathon Team!
Running is my passion and I am good at it. I feel free and at peace when I run. Some people need yoga to relax; I need a pair of running shoes and a trail to find that peace of mind. Running keeps me healthy, fit, and most important content with my life. Some people might never understand the feeling we get after a long run, especially when running a race. I always think to myself “Thank you God for helping me get through another run, another race without any muscle weakness”.

Don’t let anything stop you from doing what you love the most…facing obstacles can make us better and stronger =)

53d6c3c6092b0

Leave a comment